Members of First Pres gathered in person and online last Sunday for a congregational meeting to elect officers and vote on proposed changes to the bylaws. After a brief presentation on future strategic initiatives, a discussion was held to consider the bylaws changes, which included a proposal to move from a bicameral governance system to unicameral through the elimination of the Board of Trustees and incorporating those duties within the responsibilities of the Session. A motion to approve the changes was made and seconded, and the vote taken came out in favor of the changes, 136-11. An overview of the preliminary budget for 2023 was also presented. Then a voice vote to approve the nominees for officers was taken for the Deacons and then the Elders. The following members were elected:

Two-Year Terms: Jixun Hu, Sherri Koenig, David Nayak, Laurie Oh, Beth Rice, Nancy Sadek, Marilyn Upchurch
One-Year Term: Marilee Mercer

Three-Year Terms: Valrie Barrett, Jerry Gabrielse, Steve Konkle, Suzanne Sawada, Peter Steffen
Two-Year Terms: Richard Bell, John Powell
One-Year Term: Annette Stover

© 2021 First Presbyterian Church of Evanston

Church Theme by VamTam Themes

Follow us: